

CERTIFICATION ORDER

WHEREAS the Canadian Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal issued an order the under the *Status of the Artist Act* dated May 23, 2003, as amended on September 8, 2003 and on December 16, 2010, certifying the Screen Composers Guild of Canada, originally known as the Canadian Guild of Films Composers;

AND WHEREAS since April 1, 2013, the Canada Industrial Relations Board is responsible for the administration of Part II of the *Status of the Artist Act*;

NOW, THEREFORE, the Canada Industrial Relations Board hereby confirms that

THE SCREEN COMPOSERS GUILD OF CANADA

is certified to represent a sector composed of all professional independent contractors engaged by a producer subject to the *Status of the Artist Act* to perform the function of author, composer or author-composer, including all the associated work required by these functions, in order to deliver to the producer music, lyrics, and music with lyrics where the said music or lyrics are intended for film, videotape, digital media or any other audiovisual media or analogous process, or any other process now known or to be invented which modifies or replaces the aforementioned technology and processes, excluding:

The artists covered by the certification granted to the Société professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Québec (SPACQ) by the Canadian Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal on May 17, 1996, as amended by the Tribunal on May 20, 2003, and September 8, 2003.

And subject to:

- The agreement concluded between the Screen Composers Guild of Canada and the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada (SOCAN) on May 6, 2002; and
- b. The agreement concluded between the Screen Composers Guild of Canada and the Société du droit de reproduction des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs au Canada (SODRAC) Inc. on May 13, 2002.

AND that, for the purposes of Section 28(2) of the *Status of the Artist Act*, the original date of the certification remains May 23, 2003;

ISSUED at Ottawa, Ontario, this 29th day of April 2013.

Elizabeth MacPherson Chairperson

